16 Perspectives

I have been asked to investigate a single moment in the story from 16 different perspectives. I struggled greatly thinking of so many different views of one scene and so far, have only been able to produce 8 outcomes for this task.

  1. ‘The mind of Blanche’ – In this image we can see Blanche thinking most prominently about her late husband. I placed in some green melting hearts (poisoned) because i dont think Blanche has a very healthy view of love, and she also has Mitch in the back of her mind. I wanted this image to be a little washed out and uncertain as Blanches mind seems like a very toxic place.
  2. ‘The Birth’ – This is a very straight forward image showing that while Stanley is raping Blanche his wife is giving birth to his son on the other side of New Orleans. I think the fact that these events are parallel to each other is a little disturbing considering this didn’t effect Stanley’s actions.
  3. ‘Stanley’s Thoughts’ – This image shows what Stanley was thinking during the scene. I believe all he wanted to do is hurt Blanche and ‘smash’ her like the fragile thing she is. He heard about the many people she had slept with and thought, ‘Well better get my share.’ He wanted to show his dominance and sow that he can control her.
  4. ‘The Paper Lantern’ – I wanted to observe the scene from an obscured viewpoint. I remembered that the paper lantern was right next to a large window. I believe the lantern to connote the softness and fragility of Blanches physical and mental stage. It is a symbol of the mask she wears to protect herself.
  5. ‘The Apartment’ – I wanted to show the outside of the apartment to show that even thought this awful thing is happening, from anyone else perspective nothing is happening. Blanche wasn’t crying out so anyone walking by would be none the wiser.
  6. ‘Blanche’s Viewpoint’ – For this image i had to rely a lot on colour to represent what Blanche was experiences and Stanley’s emotions as i hadn’t got facial expressions to help me.
  7. ‘Stanley’s Viewpoint – (same as above)
  8. ‘The Next Room’ – This image is of the next room over. I wanted to toy with the idea that you can be so close to an event that you almost become part of it.

I will try to finish another 8 perspectives.

Leave a comment